Loading Events

Success for locals at the Philip Wareing Ltd Multi -Sponsored 2 Day Golf Tournament
Local members Jan Lane and Katrina Glass won the Ladies section at the Philip Wareing Ltd 2 Day Multi – sponsored Tournament over the weekend. The field of 78 teams, 156 golfers, enjoyed the superb course conditions and the amazing fine weather.
In the Men’s section the best of the Methven teams was Clinton Burrell-Smith and Michael Smith, last year’s winners, who finished 3rd.
The winners Tony Fitzgerald and Malcolm Collins from Christchurch lead by six shots after Saturday’s four ball. They managed to hold off Ross MacLennan and Gavin Doody from Rakaia by one shot. The Rakaia pair had come from nine shots back to get second.
Sharon Burrell-Smith and Dean Wilson were the closest to scoring a hole in one on No 17 and winning $20,000, $10,000 for themselves and $10,000 for the Club.
Locals also took out the major raffle prizes off the course. Simon Wareing won the Methven Golf Adventure and Gayle O’Duffy won the Millbrook voucher.
The Methven Golf Club thanks Opuke Pools, Rakaia Jet, Newzengland Ltd, Mt Hutt Ski, Mt Hutt Motels Adventure Balloons along with the Methven Golf Club.
Oh yes it was double celebration for Katrina. Her two year old horse won at Motukarara on Sunday.

Click here for the full results of the 2023 Tournament

Ladies winners left to right: Jan Lane, Ruth Smith – Ladies Club Captain, Katrina Glass
Mens winners left to right: Tony Fitzgerald, Michael Kemp – Match Convenor, Malcolm Collins

Go to Top