Club News

News stories are added on a regular basis. For archived items, please contact the Golf Coordinator.

Jubilee Trophy
Winners: Sharon Burrell-Smith / Clinton Burrell-Smith 81 – 19 ½ – 61 ½
Other good scores: Fay Redfern/Ian Lucas 65 ½, Annette Maw / Piers Rolton 66, Bev Isherwood / Michael Kemp 66, Gayle O’Duffy / Alister Maxwell 66, Jane Helmore / Paddy Helmore 681/2, Hiromi Ikehata / Phil Elliott 69

Single Person – Stroke Round
Marc Davies 81 – 15 – 66
Other good scores: Jim Rooney 67, Athol McAlpine 68, T Molloy, James Anderson, Eric Grimwade 70 Eric Meaclem, Mark Gazzard, John Richards, OJ Dodson 72, Ben Rutter 73, Roger Callaghan, Geoff Kelk, Dayle Lucas, Rod Carson 74
Next Week: 1st round Roger Harris Memorial Trophy

Burrell-Smiths win Jubilee Trophy on Methven Golf Club’s Opening Day
Sharon and Clinton Burrell-Smith won the Jubilee Trophy on opening day of the 2021 season at the Methven Golf Club. They combined well to record a nett 611/2 to win by four shots from Fay Redfern and Ian Lucas.
Men’s Captain, Piers Rolton welcomed the 50 players and wished them well for the coming season.

Then promising, young golfer Frida Wood, on behalf of President, Pete Wood, hit a great drive straight down the fairway to begin the 2021 season.

The warm weather and superb course conditions allowed for some good scoring. Marc Davies took the honours in the single person draw with a nett 66. He was closely followed by Jim Rooney and Athol McAlpine. A BBQ followed to ensure a great start for the season.
On Friday the 9 holers had a successful bring a friend day. From reports several of the friends showed that they had lost none of their skills after many years away. Well done. The previous Friday the players enjoyed a morning at Lake Hood playing the par 3 course as a nice change.
The Ladies have their first competition day for the season on Wednesday with the Men on Saturday.

Ross Breach, Michael Kemp, Alister Maxwell, Steve Schwass have combined to win the Norton Francis Golf Trophy at the Christchurch Golf Club. It is the first time that Methven has won the prestigious trophy which has been held for many years.

The Trophy (named in memory of one of the founding members of the Christchurch Club) is played for each year but because there are so many Clubs in Canterbury each Club is invited every two years.

The format of the tournament is unusual – it is a nett par four ball (birdies are worth +1, pars 0, bogies -1).
Methven totaled +12 to win by just 1 point from last year’s winners Rakaia.
By winning this year Methven will be invited to defend the trophy next year.

-Methven Golf has experienced a successful few days –

– The “Snowdin” Trophy was defended successful against Ellesmere at the Methven Golf Course led by stand in Men’s Captain, Bruce Dickson, with 42 points closely followed by Peter Harper with 41.
– At the Aorangi Secondary School’s Golf in the holidays Sam Ree was rewarded for his practising by winning the two tournaments. Congratulations Sam.
-Angela Mowbray and her playing partner won the Lower Waitaki 2 Day Tournament as a warm for her representing Aorangi at the South Island interprovincials where she won one of her matches.
Win at Aorangi Champion of Champions Tournament at Denfield Geraldine.

Steve Schwass, Matt Duncan and Geoff Rhodes won the Best Nett team prize and was only 1 point off winning the overall gross prize
Steve Schwass finished tied on 74 after 18 holes in the seniors and was forced to a playoff. In a dramatic playoff Steve’s putt on the 1st playoff hole lipped out for the win while on the 2nd the ball lipped out again but this time it cost him the match.

Matt Duncan, Steve Schwass, Geoff Rhodes

There were close, exciting matches in the Methven Golf Club’s Championship Finals on Saturday. Held in superb conditions over 36 holes it was Matt Duncan who prevailed over Paddy Helmore to win the Intermediate Championship with his last putt. Similarly it was Sam Clark who won on the last against a gallant Geoff Rhodes to win Junior A. In the Silver Final Angela Mowbray retained her title but was taken to the last by a fighting Robyn Maw. The new Senior Champion is Steve Schwass who overcame a gallant Craig J Middleton while Peter Harper won the ”Battle of the Peters” to take out Junior B from Peter Kemp.
Ellen Kemp played consistently on the day to overcome Ruth Smith in Bronze A while Bev Isherwood’s recent good form carried over to the final to win Bronze B from Gail Limbrick.
In the Senior Knockout John McGettigan beat Alister Maxwell while Mike Gray won the Junior Knockout.

Winners in the plate finals were – Senior – Dayle Lucas, Intermediate – Phil Johnson, Junior A – Eric Grimwade, Junior B – Bruce Dickson